Respect Is earned not given. Here’s how to get some.

cropped-imagescai3xljj.jpg

Respect is earned not given. Here are 3 words on how to get some. Have you ever felt neglected or underappreciated in a relationship whether it is your family, job, children, pet’s, self etc…? My guess is we all have, but that does not mean they are disrespecting you.  Maybe they respect you so much they are out working to pay for your lifestyle or health care? Have you ever felt disrespected? How did you know? If you do not have a clear definition of what respect is then let me give you a simple one.   I created an overly simplified definition that makes it easy to distinguish if you or someone else is respecting you or not. In short it is 1.Worth, 2.  Importance  3. Value = W.I.V.

I WIV you for reading this blog because you are giving it your time and attention which translates into you are giving this blog W.I.V.- Worth, importance, and value.  Thank you!

Ask yourself this question when in doubt. Is this (Fill in the blank) _______________(person, place, thing etc…) giving me worth, importance and value? The answer will be either yes, no or  partially. But at least you will have more clarity and clarity is the first step towards enlightenment on getting the respect you want. Remember respect is earned no given.

Here are some examples: Is my boyfriend/girlfriend, Husband/wife giving my boundaries W.I.V?  yes or no? Am I giving my boyfriend/girlfriend, husband/wife W.I.V, yes? No? Does my job give my talents W.I.V. Do I give W.I.V to my body, to my mind, to my spirit? Yes? No? Then when you have the answer what can you do to give WIV =respect to yourself more?

Please know that you have more Worth, Importance and Value then you will ever know. No one knows why our hearts are beating right now. No one knows exactly why and how our brains work and store memory.  But we do know that we are alive and there is Worth, importance, and value in that.  By respecting yourself and others your become a role model to others. The more you WIV yourself the more you can WIV others. Give your dreams the WIV they deserve and live. Who knows it may give permission to others who are watching to do the same.

About stuartcline

I have been a therapist for over 15 years, and certified life coach for over 2. I am a Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor, Art Therapist, and a Licensed Substance Abuse Counselor. I believe the world is a better place when people are inspired and have hope. Positive people lead happy lives. My hope is that my blog stuartcline.com will offer those who read it an uplifting thought or a tool to give their life even more quality. I believe our best thinking has given us the results we now have and if we want another outcome then we need new information. I offer new information. I believe in you and the positive choices that you are making. Do what feels right and stop doing what does not. My hope is that our good deeds will ripple out into the world and leave it a little better then it was before. My goal is to make it easier for people to smile. Smiling matters. It leaves the world a little brighter and our hearts a little lighter. My hope is that smiling will be so common and contagious that we may all need to wear sunglasses, because the light created from the smiles is blinding. With kindness, Stuart
This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Respect Is earned not given. Here’s how to get some.

  1. Pingback: Respect Is earned not given. Here’s how to get some. | Tools to live an Inspired Life- Stuart Cline

Leave a Reply

