I gave away $72 and a year later a $72 miracle happened.

The following is an experience that made me a believer in the phrase “what you give you shall receive”.

In early 2000 I wanted to be more connected spiritually. I was meditating but felt I needed to do more. I had heard of tithing in the past but never did it. I did not belong to a church but felt the strong desire to tithe. So I decided I would give 10% of my next paycheck to a co-worker who I felt spiritually uplifted me. So I did. I met here in a parking lot, told her what I was doing and she accepted happily. It felt weird for me but I knew it was the right thing to do even though I did not know why at that time. I originally did not want to give 10% of my $720 because I could have used the $72. But then I realized I would have probably spent it on material things which is the opposite of being more spiritual so off went my $72. For me this was a big deal. I prayed about it and made sure this was the right thing to do and then I forgot about it. life went on.

Later that year I experienced a lot of challenges. It was probably the worst year of my life. In short, I left New Mexico, leaving my job, breaking up with my girlfriend at the time, My back went out causing so much pain that I could not work and my left leg was atrophying making it difficult to walk. I did not have a place of my own to live, My savings ran out and to say the least I was not much fun to be around. Even I did not want to be around myself.  During this time I am very greatful my family rallied together and helped me out. My brother Preston and his wife Amy allowed me to stay with them for a good part of that year in Gloucester Mass.

During this time to say the least it was a low point.  I had no money, was a burden to my family, in excruciating pain, couldn’t pay bills, and was at an all time low in my life. Money was definitely an issue and peanut butter and jelly sandwiches were my go to meal much of the time .  On one particular week living with my brother Preston and his wife Amy none of us had any money for groceries. They were working full time positions. I could not. I was in pain and my body did not work very well, I felt sorry for myself, frustrated and didn’t know how to financially contribute to my brother and wife.

They lived walking distance from the ocean. One day my back was in so much pain I thought if I went swimming in the really cold ocean my body would go numb and it would give me some pain relieve. My brother had a thin wet suit since I did not want to die of hypothermia I put it on borrowing his flippers and mask and snorkel. So off I went on this sunny chilly morning.

I got in the water feeling hopeful about pain relief from the mind numbing cold salt water in the ocean. Then the Miracle began. I slowly maneuvered over to a wharf that jetted out in the ocean. When it was high tide people was high tide it was the place to jump, dive or cannonball into the ocean. Today no one was around. As I I scoured the sandy seaweedy floor something caught my eye. It was treasure! I saw a dollar bill. Then I dove down and could feel there was more where that came from and there was. I saw a five dollar bill. Then a twenty dollar bill. Then more. The total amount of money I find in the ocean that day was 72.00 dollars. The same 72 dollars I had tithed that one time a year earlier. 

With that money. I was able to buy groceries for everyone. It was very cool. I believe what you sow you shall reap and what you give will come back to you kind of like insurance. We hope we never have use the insurance but if we do we are glad we had it. I also believe my family will get lot of blessings for putting up with me for that year.

Cheer’s to all the good deed’s you have brought into the world.

My best,

Stuart

About stuartcline

I have been a therapist for over 15 years, and certified life coach for over 2. I am a Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor, Art Therapist, and a Licensed Substance Abuse Counselor. I believe the world is a better place when people are inspired and have hope. Positive people lead happy lives. My hope is that my blog stuartcline.com will offer those who read it an uplifting thought or a tool to give their life even more quality. I believe our best thinking has given us the results we now have and if we want another outcome then we need new information. I offer new information. I believe in you and the positive choices that you are making. Do what feels right and stop doing what does not. My hope is that our good deeds will ripple out into the world and leave it a little better then it was before. My goal is to make it easier for people to smile. Smiling matters. It leaves the world a little brighter and our hearts a little lighter. My hope is that smiling will be so common and contagious that we may all need to wear sunglasses, because the light created from the smiles is blinding. With kindness, Stuart
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I gave away $72 and a year later a $72 miracle happened.

  1. Lunagrrl says:

    Stuart…Your post really spoke to me! I have been living month to month on my disability check for 13 years. I wanted to be able to increase my income, but was not able to work. I had a couple of experiences last year that led me to the Secret and the power of attraction. I looked at my financial history and saw that there were some times that I was not honest. I didn’t have the money to replace the exact amounts and some of the people had died, but I knew that if I didn’t clear up my money karma, I was never going to move forward. I made donations that I could afford in the name of my debtors as a symbolic amends and anonymously repaid the ones who were still alive. Six months later, I have a couple of small side jobs that make it possible to go on day trips and take workshops!

    • stuartcline says:

      Thank you for sharing Lunagrrl, Keep up the faith and miracles happen. If it can happen to me it can happen to anyone. Look into Noah St John’s Afformations. This may interest you as well. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

