An Art Therapy Project + Apple + Addiction = Greatness

Apple colored pencils

An art therapy project plus an apple plus an addiction equals greatness by Stuart at stuartcline.com. I was doing a substance abuse group and my clients were having a hard time seeing what their life would be like without drugs and or alcohol. I believe if your goals are fuzzy then your results will be fuzzy. With this in mind I brought the group to our art therapy room and put down pieces of large white paper and colored pencils. I told them I was going to test them on a life lesson and there was no need to worry because I would give them all the answers to this test. In fact, I will put the answer’s right in front of them. They relaxed until I placed an apple in the middle of the table and told everyone to draw the apple exactly as it looks onto the paper.

The groups anxiety raised immediately, nervous laughter began and each of them shared with me the reasons why they could not do this. I told them that all the answers to draw the apple were right infront of them. The line, shape, and color were all they needed to dupicate it exactly. So with some more  encouragement they all started to draw. By the end of the session I walked around and looked at all the drawings.  None of them looked like the real apple in the center of the table. I asked them why they could not draw it realistically. They all gave their reasons  sharing that this was not easy. I listened and when they were finnished I said this.     

          The reason you could not draw the apple before you is because you are drawing what you think an apple looks like rather than the one that is right in front of you. In life we all do the exact same thing. We look at our own possibilities with preconceived filters that do not allow us to see our true brilliance. Often we are clouded by what we believe is in front of us rather then seeing what is actually is.  

The challenge in life is to see what is right in front of you with all of its glory. You are all greater then you allow yourself to be. It is time to stop looking at the past of what we think an apple looks like and look in the mirror and appreciate the beaauty that is before you. You are a miricle and how people have seen you, and how you have acted while under the inffluence is not who you are today. Having an addiction is an aspect of you. Not your totallity. There is greatness in you. All of you. It is time to embrace it and shine. The key is to draw from what is before you not what you think is before you. Look closure, let go of judgements and allow this truth in.

There is a medical doctor named Andrew Weil. He was teaching a college class in Arizona on how to find four leaf clovers. I am sure this was not the main reason for the class but this is what they did. In each class they would go out in search of finding four leaf clovers in a nearby field. In the first class they only found one, but with each class they kept finding more and more.  By the end of the semester when they went out into the same field they were finding fourleaf clovers everywhere. So why then? because with this  belief that they were there and setting the intention to find them they were able to tune into and seed what has been there the entire  time. 

The greatness that is you is right here right now. Even though you may not feel it or see it.  Does not take away the truth that your greatness and worth are in you right now. Imagine this. I stand before you and take out a $100 dollar bill. I ask if you want it and you say yes. I crumpple it in to a small ball into my hand  and ask if you still want it. You say ….yes. Then I throw it onto the ground and step on it. I pick it up and ask you if you still want it. You say, yes. The value of the $100 is not lost even though it was crushed and stepped on. You may feel run over and stomped on but it does not take away your worth, value and importance. The first step is to live in the possibility that this greatness is inside of you right now. The more you keep looking you will begin to see it shine brighter and brighter until you radiate like the sun. This is not the type of light that will hurt your eyes but rather the light that will strengthen your spirit and allow other light workers to see you coming. my best, Stuart at stuartcline.com

About stuartcline

I have been a therapist for over 15 years, and certified life coach for over 2. I am a Licensed Professional Clinical Counselor, Art Therapist, and a Licensed Substance Abuse Counselor. I believe the world is a better place when people are inspired and have hope. Positive people lead happy lives. My hope is that my blog stuartcline.com will offer those who read it an uplifting thought or a tool to give their life even more quality. I believe our best thinking has given us the results we now have and if we want another outcome then we need new information. I offer new information. I believe in you and the positive choices that you are making. Do what feels right and stop doing what does not. My hope is that our good deeds will ripple out into the world and leave it a little better then it was before. My goal is to make it easier for people to smile. Smiling matters. It leaves the world a little brighter and our hearts a little lighter. My hope is that smiling will be so common and contagious that we may all need to wear sunglasses, because the light created from the smiles is blinding. With kindness, Stuart
This entry was posted in Art Therapy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Art Therapy Project + Apple + Addiction = Greatness

  1. Scott Tuning says:

    An excellent analogy. I love stories like this that teach us about real life!

  2. jayworling says:

    Brilliant, I was explaining this to a person the other day..thanks for a fantastic article!

  3. stuartcline says:

    Thank you both for commenting! I do love comments. It fuels me to write more. I am glad you enjoyed it. More to come.

  4. Thank you Stuart! I love how you helped your class look at their value, not their past. Imagine how life would be if everyone did that?! Thanks for the encouragement!

    • stuartcline says:

      Thank you Chris! Love the comment. So glad you are a life coach as well. There is never enough hope in the world. A goal of mine is to help people live in the possibilities in life and move towards them. My best

Leave a Reply

